Vietnam News

NA gives Vietnam’s defense minister highest confidence vote, education minister lowest

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Results of votes of confidence for 44 officials, cast by the National Assembly in Hanoi on Wednesday morning, were announced in the afternoon.

Minister of National Defense Phan Van Giang received the most “high confidence” votes – 448, followed by chairman of the National Assembly Vuong Dinh Hue with 437 such votes.

The one with the highest number of “low confidence” votes is Minister of Education and Training Nguyen Kim Son with 72 votes, followed by Minister of Science and Technology with 71 votes.

Prime Minister Pham Minh Chinh gets 373 votes of “high confidence”, 90 votes of “confidence” and 17 votes of “low confidence”, totaling to 480 votes.

The 2023 National Assembly’s confidence vote results:

NameTitleHigh confidenceConfidenceLow confidence
1Vo Thi Anh XuanVice President410656
National Assembly
2Vuong Dinh HueNational Assembly Chairman4373211
3Tran Thanh ManNational Assembly Standing Vice Chairman414634
4Nguyen Khac DinhNational Assembly Vice Chairman392853
5Nguyen Duc HaiNational Assembly Vice Chairman391872
6Tran Quang PhuongNational Assembly Vice Chairman426493
7Nguyen Thuy AnhHead of National Assembly’s Social Committee3739314
8Duong Thanh BinhHead of the People’s Aspirations Committee31215415
9Bui Van CuongNA General Secretary, head of NA Office396805
10Vu Hai HaHead of NA Foreign Affairs Committee3671068
11Y Thanh Ha Nie KdamHead of the Ethnic Council35211612
12Le Quang HuyHead of the Science, Technology and Environment Committee3751014
13Le Thi NgaHead of the NA Judicial Committee354835
14Vu Hong ThanhHead of the NA Economic Committee365734
15Nguyen Thi ThanhHead of the Delegation Affairs Committee381555
16Le Tan ToiHead of the National Defense and Security Committee361772
17Hoang Thanh TungHead of the Law Committee365733
18Nguyen Dac VinhHead of the Culture and Education Committee3468412
19Pham Minh ChinhPrime Minister3739017
20Le Minh KhaiDeputy Prime Minister384906
21Nguyen Hong DienMinister of Industry and Trade22918961
22Dao Ngoc DungMinister of Labor, Invalids and Social Affairs27916435
23Nguyen Chi DungMinister of Planning and Investment31214226
24Huynh Thanh DatMinister of Science and Technology18722271
25Colonel General Phan Van GiangMinister of National Defense448294
26Nguyen Thi HongGovernor of State Bank of Vietnam30814330
27Nguyen Manh HungMinister of Information and Communication26216752
28Nguyen Van HungMinister of Culture, Sports and Tourism21920062
29Le Minh HoanMinister of Agriculture and Rural Development31614817
30Dao Hong LanMinister of Health23918654
31Colonel General To LamMinister of Public Security32910943
32Hau A LenhMinister, Chairman of Committee for Ethnic Minorities Affairs26018536
33Le Thanh LongMinister of Justice3711027
34Nguyen Thanh NghiMinister of Construction30615219
35Doan Hong PhongInspector General of Government Inspectorate26319522
36Ho Duc PhocMinister of Finance33411924
37Nguyen Kim SơnMinister of Education and Training24116672
38Bui Thanh SonMinister of Foreign Affairs3701028
39Tran Van SonMinister, Chairman of Government Office32813714
40Nguyen Van ThangMinister of Transport23719745
41Pham Thi Thanh TraMinister of Home Affairs35311017
42Nguyen Hoa BinhChief Justice of the Supreme People’s Court31114228
43Le Minh TriProsecutor General of the Supreme People’s Procuracy33713011
44Ngo Van TuanAuditor General of the State Audit Office29217314

The NA on Tuesday approved the list of 44 people subjected to votes of confidence during the ongoing sixth session, including the president, the vice president, the chairperson and vice chairpersons of the NA, members of the NA Standing Committee, the NA Secretary General, the chairperson of the NA’s Council for Ethnic Affairs, the chairpersons of the NA committees, the prime minister, the deputy prime ministers, ministers, other members of the government, the chief justice of the Supreme People’s Court, the prosecutor general of the Supreme People’s Procuracy, and the auditor general of the State Audit Office.

However, those who are waiting for retirement and those who were elected the same year the votes of confidence are cast would not be subjected to the votes. They include President Vo Van Thuong, Deputy Prime Ministers Tran Hong Ha and Tran Luu Quang, Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment Dang Quoc Khanh and chairman of the Committee for Financial and Budgetary Affairs Le Quang Manh.

If someone gets from over half to two-thirds of the votes being “low confidence”, they may have to resign. If someone gets at least two-thirds of their votes being “low confidence”, they would be proposed for dismissal.

The NA had cast votes of confidence three times in June 2013, November 2014 and October 2018 through secret ballots. No one had over half of their votes being “low confidence.”

By Viet Tuan – –  October 25, 2023

Translate / Dịch

En poursuivant la visite de ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de traceurs (cookies) vous permettant juste d'optimiser techniquement votre navigation. Plus d’informations

En poursuivant la visite de ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de traceurs (cookies) vous permettant d'optimiser techniquement votre navigation. Aucune information sur votre utilisation de ce site ne sera partagée auprès de quelconques médias sociaux, de sociétés commerciales ou d'agences de publicité et d'analyse. Cliquer sur le bouton "Accepter", équivaut à votre consentement.